North Surry suffers first defeat

First Posted: 2/5/2009

The North Surry wrestling team hadnt lost a game all season heading into the regional tournament. On Thursday, the Greyhounds streak came to an end.
Newton Conover thoroughly dominated and won, 40-27, in the NCHSAA western regional semifinal matchup. The Red Devils won the first seven matches and nine of the first 10.
I felt like we went out and wrestled hard, North Surry coach Eric Jessup said. They won all the close matches tonight. There were a lot of matches won by decision and it seemed like they won virtually all the close ones.
The final score was deceiving; Newton Conover wrestled the first 10 matches and forfeited the rest after an insurmountable lead was established. The Red Devil pinned North Surry three times. The Greyhounds lone victory before the wave of forfeits came from 152-pounder Tyler Simmons, who won a 8-6 decision over Ross Alexander. The winners by forfeit were Tommy McMillian, Brett Doss, Taylor Baskin and Colby Bowman. Newton Conover is the defending state champion.
They were just better than us tonight, Jessup said.
North Surry finished the season with a 32-1 record. After a season spent battling to maintain perfection, the Greyhounds saw it all unravel.
They took it as well as they could, Jessup said. They were obviously disappointed. But Newton Conover was the No. 1-ranked 2-A team in the state and they showed why tonight.
I felt like we had a shot at them. Im not disappointed in how we wrestled. We got beat by the top team in the state. Our kids went out there and gave it all they had and Im proud of them.
Most of the team will have to put the loss behind them and get ready for the individual tournament beginning Feb. 13. Jessup said he has, 12 or 13 who qualify for regional.

Newton Conover 40, North Surry 27
112 Eric Holbrook (NC) p. Cody McMillian, 3:22
119 Austin Fetzer (NC) p. Tanner Riddle, 2:56
125 Ben Reinhardt (NC) tf. Cody Byrd, 19-4
130 Eric Oesterling (NC) p. Chaz Dickerson, 1:03
135 Charlie Avis (NC) d. Chris Murray, 4-1
140 Matt Owensby (NC) d. Logan Younger, 11-3
145 Randy Ortega (NC) d. Blake East, 8-6
152 Tyler Simmons (NS) d. Ross Alexander, 8-6
160 Ethan Carter (NC) d. Ethan Hazzard, 12-0
171 Gilbert Rodriguez (NC) d. Mike Morgan, 6-1
189 Tommy McMillian, wbf.
215 Brett Doss, wbf.
275 Taylor Baskin, wbf.
103 Colby Bowman, wbf.

comments powered by Disqus