Wythe racers rode the storm out Saturday

First Posted: 5/17/2009

RURAL RETREAT, Va. Mother Nature threatened all day and finally got the better of Wythe Raceway, but not until after some exciting racing took place Saturday night.
The pro minis were first to take the track, and they proved to be a tough act to follow. Gator Cornett grabbed the early lead with the field following close behind. Two-time feature winner Everett Cox began in the sixth position before he was able to catch Cornett and take the lead.
Jerry Dillow, who has been fast all year, once again showed his speed when he moved into second. Cox was able to stretch his lead out and looked like a sure thing for the win, but as the laps wound down, his car began to smoke heavily and he slowed drastically. Dillow was able to get by on the last lap and claim his first win of the season ahead of Andy Jolliffe, Randy Kincer, Jason Powers and in his first visit to the raceway Gene Cato went home with a fifth-place finish.
Late model qualifying was up next with Shannon Buckingham setting quick time with a 18.909. Brandon Umberger clocked in with a 18.921 to complete the front row at the start of the feature.
Double points were on the line, as last years track champion, Mike Keith, and R.K. Dix lead the field to the green flag. Dix was able to take the lead going into turn one. Keith, however, did not give up and repeatedly tried to get by Dix. Meanwhile, two-time feature Winner Chad Hale sped through the field with Keith Griffitts moving up as well.
With the laps winding down, Keith made a last-ditch effort to get by Dix, powering under him in turn four and beating him into turn one. The caution flag immediately flew and the crowd waited to see who would be awarded the top spot. Keith, having crossed the starting line first, was placed in first and Dix followed in second with Griffitts in third and Hale fourth. The remaining laps were hotly contested, as Dix continued his efforts to get around Keith, but Keith was up to the challenge and was able to claim his first win of the season. Dix was able to hang on for second with Griffitts third, Hale fourth and Brian Coake rounding out the top five.
The late models took the track but were unable to complete their event as Mother Nature let loose and washed away the rest of the evenings events. Racing action will return Saturday with the FASTRAK touring Late Models making their first appearance of the year on the high-banked clay oval.
This is the second leg of FASTRAKS three day, three state late model challenge. All will pay $3,000 to the winner.

Wythe Raceway Results:
May 16

Pro Mini
1. Jerry Dillow
2. Andy Jolliffe
3. Randy Kincer
4. Jason Powers
5. Gene Cato
6. Gator Cornett
7. Chip McGrady
8 Everett Cox
9. Michael Howard
10. James Gardner
11. Don Scalf
12. Brandon Farris
13. J.R. Davis
14. Travis Harden
15. Travis Vaughn
16. Gary Rudolph
17. Sammy Mitchem
18. Doug Monday

Super Streets
1. Mike Keith
2. R.K. Dix
3. Keith Griffitts
4. Chad Hale
5. Brian Coake
6. Joe Bonham
7. Cody Dutton
8. Greg Watson
9. Jimmy Tate
10. Brandon Broyles
11. RJ Reynolds
12. Duke Bare
13. Brandon Bentley
14. Bobby Helton
15. Fred Riley
16. Michael Hedrick
17. Richard Shupe Jr.
18. Michael Deskins

comments powered by Disqus