Filing period for city election ends Friday

By Tom Joyce

July 18, 2013

DOBSON — Only one day remains for potential candidates to toss their hats into the ring for the 2013 municipal election in Mount Airy.

So far, all three incumbents whose seats are at stake this year have filed to seek new four-year terms, with one challenger also joining the field. Anyone else must do so by a deadline of Friday at noon.

Those filing include first-term Mayor Deborah Cochran; South Ward Commissioner Steve Yokeley, also in his first term; and North Ward Commissioner Jon Cawley, who was appointed in 2008 to replace a councilman who resigned, and then elected to a full term the next year.

All three made their re-election candidacies official on July 5, the first day of the filing period.

Jimmy D. Mitchell Jr. filed last Thursday for the South Ward seat held by Yokeley.

The filing pattern of the off-year city elections tends to include an initial flurry and intermittent activity leading up to the final day, when some candidates make their intentions known at the last minute.

In the past two Mount Airy elections, in 2009 and 2011, four of the six seats involved have been contested.

Candidates must be at least 21 years old and file at the Surry County Board of Elections office in Dobson, located at 201 E. Kapp St. on the lower level of the Surry County Judicial Center. It is open from 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m.

A $10 filing fee is required for all three offices involved in this year’s municipal election.

In order to file for the North Ward or South Ward commissioner position, a candidate must live within the ward for the seat being sought, but the mayor’s office is open to anyone residing in the city limits.

The North Ward includes Mount Airy precincts two and four and part of precincts three and nine, based on county election maps, while the South Ward covers precincts one, seven and eight along with portions of precincts three and nine.

If more than two candidates seek a particular seat, a primary will be required, with the two top vote-getters then squaring off in the November general election.

Along with Mount Airy, Elkin is the only municipality in Surry County that will hold an election this year, due to decisions by Dobson and Pilot Mountain officials to switch to an even-year format.

Reach Tom Joyce at 719-1924 or