GOP candidates clinching Surry County wins

By John Peters - [email protected]

With 24 of Surry County’s 29 precincts reporting, Republican candidates had all but sewn up victories in Surry County across the board in local, state and national elections.

In the race for the East District seat on the Surry County Board of Commissioners, incumbent Van Tucker has a commanding lead over challenger Ronald Bowman.

Tucker, a Republican, has 21,434, or 72 percent of the votes cast, compared to 8,356 for Democrat Bowman, all but ensuring Tucker will remain on the board for four more years.

Rep. Sarah Stevens, R-Mount Airy, appears to have taken Surry County from her challenger, Democrat challenger Vera Smith Reynolds, as well, holding a 21,783 to 8,077 voting edge in the race Steven’s 90th district house seat.

Incumbent Shirley Randleman, R-Wilkesboro, is outpacing her Democrat party challenger, Michael Holleman, 21,195 to 8,098 in the race for the 30th District senate seat.

While the gubernatorial, U.S. Senate and presidential races were still wide open at 8 p.m., it appeared Donald Trump, Sen. Richard Burr, and Gov. Pat McCrory were well on their way to winning Surry County.

Trump held a 22,79 to 7,156 vote edge over Hillary Clinton, with Libertarian Party candidate Gary Johnson at 697 votes and 287 write-ins.

In the gubernatorial race, McCrory was ahead 20,889 to 9,220 in early voting numbers over Roy Cooper.

Incumbent Republican Richard Burr, seeking re-election to the U.S. Senate, also held a commanding lead, 22,284 votes to 7,185 for Democratic challenger Deborah K. Ross. Libertarian candidate Sean Haugh recorded 1,089 votes.

Results will continue to be updated for these, along with statewide and national races, as results come available.

By John Peters

[email protected]

comments powered by Disqus